Why I Won’t be Watching What to Expect…

In an entertainment article that came out on MSN.com today, Jennifer Lopez and Cameron Diaz share their thoughts on child birth. The best way I can describe my feelings after reading the little entertaining piece is: pissed.

Jennifer is a mother. Cameron is not. They both give descriptions of birth that sound down right horrific. The way they make it sound no matter if you have a C-Section or Vaginal Birth it’s all messy and gross and scary. Cameron goes as far as to say,

Cameron Diaz: “I was looking at it like, ‘Oh, my God!’ But the vaginal delivery was crazy — no man should ever see it! Never let a man see that. Never.”

Really Cameron? You’re going to put that out there when the only experience you have in the delivery room is watching a birth happen. Let me share a little something with you, sister:

Vaginal birth is natural and no one is forcing your husband/partner/boyfriend down to that end of the bed, but a lot of them end up down there and most of them go on to live  life with a new respect for their wife and the same desire for them that they’ve always had. Giving birth vaginally can be scary and slightly gross and like nothing that you’ve ever experienced, but it is also absolutely beautiful and empowering and truly a miracle.Yo Cameron! You witnessed a life come into this world and your only takeaway was this?

I don’t care if you’ve had a C-Section. I really don’t. But if you’re like J. Lo and you react to it by saying this:

Jennifer Lopez: “I had a C-section, but my sister gave birth six months later — we got pregnant around the same time — and she asked me to be in the delivery room with her, and I was, like, ‘Wow!’ Because I had twins and that was recommended for me to have a C-section, and there was a part of me [that] had thought, ‘I didn’t get to do it the way that everybody else does.’ But when I saw my sister pushing that baby out, I was like, ‘Maybe this was all right! Maybe this was a better out.’ So that was an experience.”

A better out? I’m not really sure how to take that. A better out of having to deliver your children? A better out is having a C-Section? A better way of getting your children out? I’m not really sure.

I totally understand that birth experiences vary from woman to woman and I also totally understand that these two actresses are not doctors or midwives and that they are trying to sell a movie based on a book. A book I chose not to read while pregnant. I just hate that birth continues to be shown by our media as something gross, nasty and painful. I hate that more women don’t get to experience the absolute awe of working so hard to push your baby out and the overwhelming feeling of empowerment after giving birth. More than anything I hate that women who read this article will fear doing something that their body is meant to do or  if a C-Section is necessary they will be left with the images that Jennifer and Cameron discuss so graphically.

2 thoughts on “Why I Won’t be Watching What to Expect…

  1. Loved this post, thank you.
    I’m more okay with JLo giving her 2 cents than Cameron, simply because she has zero experience being a mother.

  2. Annie says:

    I wish Hollywood would make a funny, balanced movie that’s somewhere between this drivel and The Business of Being Born. But that would probably be really, really boring.

Leave a Reply

