Taking Life for Granted

I struggle with life. A lot. I get frustrated, sad, angry, overwhelmed, and I take for granted what an absolute blessing every day on this earth is.

It always seems like it takes a tragedy or tragedies to remind me of this. I wish that wasn’t so. I wish I could live every day with the zest that I feel when I am reminded that nothing in this life is promised.

On Friday, I learned that a co-worker’s son had passed away. She’s an amazing mother and only a few days before her son’s passing we had a conversation about how amazing motherhood is. I really just can’t imagine what she is going through.

That news moved through my body until it made me feel sick to my stomach. It sprouted in my mind until all I could think of was getting my baby and squeezing him to my body. It was a not so gentle reminder that everyday on this planet is a gift.

I was so down that I left work and grabbed my baby and the whole way home I said to him, “Henry. I love you. I love you more than you will ever understand. Well, until you have your own kids. I always want you to know how much I love you. I love you, I love you, I love you.”

All I can say to end this post is that I’m going to try so much harder to keep things in perspective, to live more in the moment, to not worry so much and to take absolute joy in my family.

Leave a Reply

