Another One

Before you get all paparazzi on me and think that I’m about to announce that I am pregnant, that is not what is about to happen. Instead you will be privy to my most personal, OCD thoughts about having another child.

Lately, I find myself obsessing a bit over Baby #2. Jenny? Obsessing? No! you’re thinking right now.

But, ah yes. I think about it often. As in every hour of every day. I’m a planner. I plan. So on a typical day, I run the following questions through my head:

How many years apart should our children be? If I end up wanting a third, should we plan on two years apart? If two years apart is a good spread (which according to many people I speak to, it is) then we would need to think about getting pregnant in the next 6 months or so?  What if getting pregnant isn’t as easy this next time? I still haven’t lost all the baby weight. I am going to be 30 in January. 30! What if we can’t afford another baby? I like sleep. I don’t know if I want to be pregnant again. Will I ever WANT to be pregnant again? I’m scared of labor this time. Do I have it in me to do it naturally again? How will Henry handle having a sibling? How will we handle having two munchkins? Does having another baby sooner rather than later fit into our 5 year plan?

There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that I want another baby. I really, really do want to grow our family. Plus Henry is a full blown toddler now and maybe if I had realized how quickly we were going to get to this point, I would have enjoyed the newborn phase more.

Like most of my issues, it comes down to wanting to control the situation, which is silly because Henry wasn’t planned and what an absolutely amazing blessing he has been.

I’m a planner. I plan.

2 thoughts on “Another One

  1. Annie says:

    Oh, Jenny. I’m right there with you. The Planning Debate sounds the same in my head, too. I think you’ve got another one in you 🙂 All this noise is an important part of the process, but with so much joy waiting ahead in the journey. You and Travis are smart and capable and have a lot of love. You’ll figure it out.

  2. thedurttybride says:

    Thanks Annie – that makes me feel like I’m not so crazy. You’re right. We will figure it out or just go for it or forget to pick up the BC one month and the decision will be made for us 🙂

Leave a Reply

