2011 Goals

I’m like most people in that I typically have New Year’s Resolutions and, for the most part, they don’t change that much from year to year. Lose weight. Be kinder to myself. Take time to enjoy life. Do good things.

This year was a bit different because I was hugely pregnant at New Years and the one and only goal I had for 2011 was to have a natural, un-medicated child birth and survive the first six weeks of being a mother (for me, those first six weeks were the hardest, anybody else feel that way?).

Now that I’m past the whole labor and delivery thing, my goals are returning to my traditional New Year’s Resolutions. Although, this time I’m adding one or two more. I’m inspired by ShoeShoe Girl’s Blog – she’s motivated me to post my goals here so I have a place to journal my progress and that keeps me accountable.

So here goes:

Goal #1 – Weight Loss

Lose 20 l-b-s’sss by the end of the year. This will get me close to my pre-pregnancy/wedding weight. At this weight I feel more comfortable/confident and my clothes fit.

How I’m going to do this:

I’ve headed back to MRI to workout with Camie Cragg, the genius trainer who helped me before our wedding. I’m also committing to training for the Race for a Cure 5k race. That race is October 2, which is the perfect amount of time to use the Couch to 5k app. It’s tough to fit even an extra half hour three times a week, but I’m committing to it this time. None of that I’m planning to…I want to…I’ll try to. Nope…this time I’m doing it.

This goal also ties into my next goal…

Goal #2 – Force myself to make ME time

After Henry was born I struggled with feeling like I had lost my identity and that it was replaced with Henry’s Mom and Travis’s Wife. Sometimes I have to force myself to do things for myself.  I know this is about balance. The problem is that I really love spending time with my baby and husband, but I suppose it’s a fine line between quality time and a feeling of obligation.

How I’m going to do this:

Working out on a regular basis. Getting a pedicure or massage. Reading. Getting up early to enjoy that beautiful cup of morning coffee and a quiet house. Enjoying a little guilt free shopping. Forcing myself to be a little selfish.

Goal #3 – Find financial peace

In December of last year, Travis and I made a commitment to follow Dave Ramsey’s financial peace program. Having a baby got us a little off course – we stockpiled money for my maternity leave rather than paying debt off until I went back to work full time. Since May, we have paid off almost $7,000 in debt. If we stay the course we will be set to have all of our credit cards paid off by December and we will pay for Christmas and the holiday season with cash! I’m not going to lie, making huge payments on credit cards sucks. I can’t help thinking every time I make a payment of all the fun we could have with that money, but watching the balances drop and slowly die off is satisfying too. There’s a lot of freedom that comes from saying, “In your face!” to the credit card companies. Last month, we paid off our truck – getting that title in the mail was an awesome feeling. This month we paid off my Wells Fargo credit card. It’s had a balance since I was in college. Boom Boom POW!

How I’m going to do this:

Stay the course. Keep paying and follow our plan. Budget, budget, budget. Use cash more.

Goal #4 – Declutter

I’m an adult now. I’m married. I have a baby. I own a home. I have a career. So why is my house always such a disaster? We have a clutter/organization/dirty laundry problem in our home and I’m desperate to fix it. We’ve worked hard to keep up on things and throw trash/junk mail/various crap away. Now it’s just a matter of making it a habit.

How I’m going to do this:

Get rid of stuff. Remind myself that a clutter free house makes me feel better and more centered emotionally. Oh and I’m an adult and until I am debt free there will be no magic cleaning lady for me.

Goal #5 – Spend a little time on my faith and spirituality

True Confession: Travis and I have been married for a year and until last weekend I had only gone to church once since we got married. And, fine, yes, you were right. It was Christmas. I’m one of those people. I like going to church, but it seems like it’s one of the first things to go when I feel too busy. I’m recommitting to attending mass a few times a week month, preparing to have Henry baptized and making time for my spiritual side.

How I’m going to do this:

Plan to attend church a couple of times a month. Take a few quiet moments everyday for prayer.

Those are my goals for the next 5 months. I’m going to pull a little Tim Gunn on myself and Make it Work!

Leave a Reply

