A Little Ray of Sunshine

Well, isn’t this story just a little ray of sunshine?

Does having children make you happy?

If you value your time and don’t need the details, then let me fill you in on what the author of this article and the sociologist who conducted this happiness study have concluded.

No.

Nope. Apparently, having children is actually the key to unhappiness, depression, anxiety and an overall dissatisfaction with life.

Isn’t that special?

And your marriage? Are you happy in that?

Because once you have a baby, that goes out the window too.

This article just pisses me off. I love that they get the perspective of the woman who is happy to not have children, but there is not a single quote from anyone on the other side of the fence. Reading this article just might convince you that we don’t exist.

Well, let me set the record straight. Parenthood? This shit is hard. Real hard. Like training-for-a-marathon-that-may-never-end-hard. There are days when I’m not sure how to get through it.

But…

It’s also absolutely, freaking amazing. When Henry looks at me and smiles or giggles at my antics, I’m overwhelmed with love and happiness. And the depth of that happiness is hard to describe. My love for him is so strong, so motherly and so over the moon fulfilling.

And my marriage? Yeah, there are adjustments that we are making. We’re learning new roles, we’re not getting a lot of sleep and we’re adjusting to having another very demanding little person in the mix.

But…

I’ve never been more in love with my husband. I’ve never found him so attractive. He’s one hot dad. We may be navigating new waters, but our boat is the same.

I totally respect people who do not want kids. By all means, if you don’t have the burning desire to raise a child don’t do it. You’re doing the world and a child a favor.

But…

Don’t rain on my parade. I’ve got a cute, giggly little boy at home who has my heart completely.

Leave a Reply

