Choice

I’m about to publish our birth story, but first I have to fill in some of the missing puzzle pieces so our story doesn’t leave you scratching your head saying, “That bitch be crazy.”

We were planning a home birth.

There. Now that’s out in the open.

I’ve crafted a dozen posts about home birth. I included facts and figures, links to websites and forums, and book recommendations. I’ll post the references that I found most helpful in the future. I never posted the material I wrote about choosing home birth because I was afraid of ridicule. I struggle with what should be public and what should be private on this blog. After sharing our decision with close friends, family and even neighbors, Travis and I decided that this was one of those things that was best kept to ourselves.

Some people were more than supportive. Others were not. And that hurt.

It made me question if we were making the right decision. It sent me on a mad Googling spree. It made my Catholic guilt flare up like a bad case of Athlete’s Foot.

So I will say this:

We decided to try a home birth because we felt it was what was best for our baby, my health, and Travis’s role as a supportive partner. We decided that we would continue seeing our OBGYN in case we needed to transfer to the hospital and because we liked the combination of care. The OB’s philosophy and the midwife’s are very different. I’m convinced that somewhere in between the two is the perfect solution for obstetrics care.

The more I read about the current state of giving birth in the U.S., the more fearful I became of hospitals and unnecessary interventions. I wanted the opportunity to let my body do what it was meant to.

Here’s a great video that gives some great info:

I don’t want to use this blog to get on a soap box about what is the right or wrong way to give birth because there is no right or wrong way. There is only the right or wrong way for you.

However, it’s so important that women stop being passive about giving birth. It isn’t something to be feared.  My best advice is to educate yourself. Research birth and common interventions. Think about hiring a doula or midwife. Even research home birth if it’s something that you are interested in. I can’t stress how important it is to trust your body and to ask questions. Your doctor or midwife will do their best to steer you in the right direction, but when it comes down to it, you must trust your gut.

Now that I have all of that out in the open we can proceed to the birth story. I promise that it is full of suspense, intrigue and an ultimate happy ending!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Choice

  1. […] – Must purchase Tucks and a variety of other things needed for home birth, including snacks to have during […]

Leave a Reply

