Oh hey…I’m still pregnant

“Wow! When’s your due date?”

“Uh, tomorrow.”

“So what are you doing here?”

“Uh, working.”

It’s 7:51 a.m. and in the 20 minutes I’ve been in the office I’ve had this conversation with approximately 10 people. They give me their name suggestions and various other pregnancy anecdotes. They note how it doesn’t look like the baby has dropped. And then they place their bets on when our baby will be born.

I try, in a tone that is getting increasingly hard to control, to educate them about the fact that 50% of women will go past 40 weeks of pregnancy and only 5% of women deliver on their actual due date. I understand that not everyone wants to hear about the history of how the medical world came up with the 40 week pregnancy, but it doesn’t stop me from wanting to share. And share. And share. And share. Just to get them to shut the eff up.

I try to refrain from sharing with them that my cervix has been dilated to a 4 (considered active labor) for the last two weeks, how the baby’s head is at a station of +1 and how I decided long ago that being induced wasn’t something I was eager to try (although my OB would have induced me two weeks ago). I try to be patient, but that patience is wearing thin. No one wants to have this baby more than me and not because of the physical discomfort. I want to meet my son and hold him and begin this new chapter of our lives. I appreciate people’s excitement and enthusiasm, but if you’ve ever been pregnant then I hope you understand where I’m coming from.

My midwife says that the average length of gestation for a first time mom is 41 weeks and 1 day. At our weekly appointment she said to prepare for at least another week of being pregnant and to enjoy the fact that my body has done so much of the preliminary work. I have essentially finished the early stage of labor.

I’m trying hard to trust my body during this time. I know that the contractions that are coming more frequently and are considered ‘false labor’ are my body’s way of warming up. I know it will be soon and that our baby will be born on the day that God intended. So despite our attempts at coaxing him along I’m trying to relax and enjoy these last few days/weeks of being pregnant.

I’m also trying to not lose it on my coworkers. Like really, really trying.

5 thoughts on “Oh hey…I’m still pregnant

  1. rebellin says:

    Hang in there! You’re so close!!! In a few weeks, this time will feel like a distant memory! I always love how people are surprised when you work right up until you have the baby, but don’t they understand that you’d rather spend that time off with the child instead of sitting on the couch gestating? Heck, it’s just as easy to gestate in front of a computer as it is in front of a TV! Will be checking your site religiously for updates! So excited for you!

    • thedurttybride says:

      Totally! I am still completely capable of working – it’s the coworkers who are killing me right now! I do hope this is a distant memory soon and I hate to pull the hormones card, but I don’t think these people realize what they are messing with right now.

  2. aunt cathy says:

    You really don’t have to keep a lid on the hormones. The coworkers deserve what ever you dish out and you may feel better. Being preggers excuses all kinds of behavior flaws.
    Ride down bumpy roads, eat McDonalds and have a little with the hubby. That will help move things along.
    Keep us posted.
    Love ya all.

    • thedurttybride says:

      I’ll post the sign I made for my coworkers soon. I’m hoping it helps them to shut up. And seriously? The twins comments? I think they warrant homicide.

  3. Em says:

    You are already at 4?!??! I’m jealous and I’m not even pregnant! Is that weird? You know what I mean… 😉

    GO YOU!

    Can’t wait for more news! So excited for you!!

Leave a Reply

