Birth Without Fear

December 28, 2010

I’m writing this before I’ve delivered our baby. So perhaps in a month or so I will add an addendum to this post and write about how, “Eff no, there is no way I am doing that again.”

But for now, I will write about how I’ve come to feel about birth.

I no longer fear it. I no longer imagine unbearable pain or the idea that I won’t be able to handle it. I just don’t go there.

Instead, I think about bringing my little one into the world in an environment of excitement, love and joy. I picture my body doing what it is meant to do, fulfilling it’s destiny and bringing our baby boy into our arms. I imagine holding my son for the first time, looking into his eyes, watching my husband as he sees this little miracle that we’ve created together.

I picture the contractions or “surges,” as we are taught in hypnobirthing, as a time when my mind is not allowed to think and instead as a time when my body has complete control.

The hypnobirthing theory is that fear causes pain. It teaches that we’ve been ingrained to believe that birth and pain walk hand in hand. Instead, the idea of hypnobirthing is to allow your body to do it’s job, approaching each contraction with deep relaxation and breathing.

February 3, 2011

I don’t know what the next few weeks will bring, but over the last month or so there has been a complete transformation in my thoughts. I don’t wake up with anxiety anymore. I don’t worry about “handling” labor. I’m simply excited for this experience and bringing our boy into the world.

Leave a Reply

