Who the bleep did I marry?

I came home on Saturday afternoon after getting the best pedicure ever (I can make that statement because I’m pregnant and I’m fairly certain that ANY pedicure would be the best ever at this point) and found my husband sprawled across the couch, beer in hand with a football game on the TV.

Yes, that football. The American kind.

I took a deep breath. “Are you…

Gulp.

…watching football?,” I asked with every ounce of disbelief my newly pedicured body could muster.

“Yeah, UNR’s playing.”

“Oh. Ok.”

You see, my friends, he has never in the course of our four year relationship watched any sport besides the occasional foray into the X Games or the Winter Olympics. Never.

It’s one of the things I love about him.

Wolf Pack MascotA long time ago, in a land where I was a young college student and didn’t know much about myself, I pretended to like sports for a guy. Don’t get me wrong, I can handle the occasional basketball or baseball game. I almost enjoy them. When I lived in Australia I loved going to footy games, but when it comes to football season I’m a bit of a black sheep in my family. I could frankly give a damn who is playing, winning, cheating, going to get the Heisman or playing in a bowl game.

And my wonderful husband felt the same. Until, our local university, my alma mater, got good and they won this game. The game that my husband begrudgingly watched with my father during Thanksgiving.  My husband kind of got into it and now it would seem that he’s a fan. A fan! A football watching fan!

Isn’t that the beauty of relationships? When we’re with the right person we’re given the freedom to change, to grow, to suddenly like team sports.

Sigh…at least I don’t have to pretend to like it anymore. But I did cuddle up with him to watch the end of the match game. And I may have liked it a little, itty bit. It may have been kind of exciting.

3 thoughts on “Who the bleep did I marry?

  1. Zero says:

    The beauty of most sports fans is that they are bandwagon type of people, myself included. Sporting events offer something most television does not, an unknown outcome…in most cases. However, we can only root for a looser for so long, then we move onto other interests.

    I used to follow my local sports teams casually via the news and box scores in the paper. It was my wife who had me sitting down every Sunday to watch the local football franchise. Then we both gave it up in disgust for many years, and now we are back.

    Once the college team starts to suck it up again, you might get your husband back.

    Zero

  2. Travis says:

    I have watched two whole football games in my. And if I ever reach five games in my lifetime I will be amazed.

Leave a Reply

