Thanksgiving Redux

Last year we cooked an entire Thanksgiving meal for three. Neither Travis nor I had ever made a turkey or managed an entire Thanksgiving meal, and I documented that cooking endeavor here (along with a good tip about thawing a frozen turkey).

This year our guest list has grown a bit and we are hosting my parents, my aunt and my 87 year old grandma.

Here’s some fun family trivia:

My mom just had surgery. The kind that messes with your hormones.

My aunt is the classic first child. Bossy. Needs to be in charge. Opinionated. Put her in a busy kitchen with three more first-borns (AHEM – me, my husband and my father) and you’re guaranteed a good time.

My grandma is 87. She doesn’t travel anymore. Except when she is guilted into it by her daughter who just had surgery (AHEM – mom). She also has a preoccupation with her pregnant granddaughter’s weight. Yeah! Bring on the pie, G-Ma!

If you live in the Reno-Tahoe-Sparks-Nevada area and don’t have Thanksgiving plans hit me up. We’d love to have you at the hormonal napalm cocktail at our Thanksgiving meal.

I’ve been planning Thanksgiving since I found out we are hosting. The menu has been posted on our refrigerator and this week I realized, “Holy turkey Batman! Thanksgiving is next week!”

Time to get shopping/prepping/cleaning.

Here’s my menu with links to the recipes:

Appetizers

Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms – Travis and I wing this recipe so I’ll post later.
Creamy Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup – I’m making this as more of a Thanksgiving lunch. Something to keep us going while we chop/Iron Chef/Pray our way through Thanksgiving.

Main

Roasted, Brined Turkey – I’m planning on using The Pioneer Woman’s Turkey Brine and roasting the same way we did last year.
Smoked Turkey – This is a family tradition and results in the most delectable, moist turkey. I’ll do a complete post on this bad boy.

Sides

Buttermilk Parmesan Garlic Mashed Potatoes – I’m thinking about doing these in the slow cooker to save time and get them out of the way.
Roasted Brussel Sprouts Salad with a Warm Bacon Vinaigrette
Sausage Stuffing – This is my recipe that I created last year. It was delish.

Dessert

I could buy these, but I’ve never made a pie and am looking forward to trying this year. Plus grocery stores are open on Thanksgiving. You know, in the event of complete pie catastrophe.

Pecan Pie – I started out with a Cooking Light Pecan Pie recipe and then I was all, “Really? You’re preggo and you’re going to skimp on the Pecan Pie this year?” Huh, no!

Vanilla Bourbon Pumpkin Tart – I’ve got to get my booze in somewhere. Even if the alcohol is cooked out. Plus it takes the Grandma’s edge off. That and her special “lemonade.”

Dreamy Apple Pie – Another Pioneer Woman Recipe. I heart her recipes and her site.
This year’s menu is a little more complex than last year’s, but it’s not every day that your 87 year old grandmother, bossy aunt, recently hospitalized mother, kitchen Nazi father, and adorable extremely rugged and handsome husband gather for  a meal.

Another fun fact: As of this morning we are preparing for a blizzard! Woo-hoo! Come on out west G-Ma! You’re going to love it!

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Redux

  1. Aunt Beth says:

    What is James doing?

    • thedurttybride says:

      James is on shift and will be spending Thanksgiving with a bunch of oil workers. He’s excited because apparently all the guys out there throw a huge Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

