I Llllll you

This morning I was thinking about the first time Travis and I shared those three little words.

The thing that always blows me away is how close I came to not saying it. How close I came to not letting this beautiful chapter of my life unfold.

We were standing in the kitchen of the apartment that he shared with two friends of his (girl friends) and he was cooking dinner. We did this fairly often at the beginning of our relationship. Trading nights of cooking, walking Daisy dog and watching Jeopardy. Slowly sliding into domestication while totally in denial.

He was probably making something with a lot of cheese. He knew the way to my heart early on. At some point, we started joking and teasing each other. He said, “Why do you hate me so much?”

I said, “I don’t hate you. I llll……like you a lot.”

We looked at each other, both of us certain of what had almost come out of my mouth. He smiled. I blushed. And then we acted like it had never happened. For months.

I can’t remember how long we had been dating at this point. It had to have been only a couple of months and after being burnt in the past I was still convincing myself that there way no way I loved this guy. We were just dating. Totes nonchalant. Completely casual. I didn’t care if he called. Definitely didn’t care.

Our First Camping Trip. Excuse the Camo shorts. Or don't. I'm from NV afterall.

A few months later we went on our first camping trip with a bunch of his friends. I wasn’t too excited. One of his friends (and his wonderful wife) had a habit of asking inappropriate questions and embarrassing me in front of people I had just met. Travis promised to protect me from this so I agreed to go. And on the second night of our camping trip, each of us bundled up in a sleeping bag in a tent full of dirt from the day’s earlier dust storm, I said it.

And he said it back.

And that was it.

A month later we decided to move in together. A year and a half later we were engaged. A year and a half after that we were married. And in 13 weeks (give or take) we will welcome a baby boy into this family that happened because I let those three little words fly.

So today’s lesson is to take chances. Love completely. And say it. Say it often. Say it loudly. Say it because you mean it.

Because I’m feeling sappy today I want you to share your I lllll you stories with me.

Leave a Reply

