The First Trimester

Because we were keeping the pregnancy under wraps for as long as possible, I didn’t write about the first trimester or my experience. Before I forget  what it was like I thought I would share with you the gloriousness of the first trimester.

Weeks 4-7

I’m feeling crampy and think that the Crimson Tide should be arriving any day. We’re 3 weeks out from our wedding and my mind is consumed with the guest list, nailing the decor, and making sure everything is exactly how it should be. Travis makes a delicious weekend breakfast. I take one bite and don’t feel so hot. Not sick. Just not hungry. He makes a joke about me being pregnant. “Nah,” I say. “I’ve been feeling cramps.” The weekend carries on and I am just so damn tired. But I should be right? I’ve been planning a wedding, working out like an athlete and dealing with a demanding job.

Monday comes around. Travis heads out of town for work and I start thinking, “When was my last period?” I take my Rodney White calendar off the wall and start counting. Holy S*&#! I’m almost two weeks late. I can’t really concentrate on anything. I head to Whole Foods to get some lunch. Yuck. Nothing looks good. I spend $15 anyway.

Then it’s off to Target. I’m buying a pregnancy test for the first time in my entire life.

I get back to my office. Luckily, it’s a slow day and not many people are around. I slip into the bathroom with my Whole Foods bag and take out the pregnancy test. Did you know they come in a package of two? Me neither. Before that faint, second line shows up on the pee stick, I know. I just absolutely know that I am pregnant. After all, I’ve never felt like this before.

When I am stuffing the second pregnancy test into the Whole Foods bag I drop it on the floor. It makes a loud “KABOOM!” So much for being inconspicuous. I walk into the hall to find two male engineers staring at me. Oh, hey guys. Nothing to see here. Just a girl who found out she’s knocked up three weeks before her wedding. No big deal.

After getting back to my desk I spend the rest of the day reading BabyCenter.com. It turns out those damn pee sticks are pretty accurate.

I get home and rush to the bathroom. Time for the second test. A-ha! This is why they sell them in a package of two. Two minutes later – yep, still pregnant.

It’s time to call my fiance. He should probably know about this. I know he loves me. I know we have a strong relationship. But…

I’m about to tell him that we’re having a child.

The phone call starts out with chit chat. Then I say, “So I took two pregnancy tests today. And they are positive.”

Gulp. The tears start flowing. I have such mixed emotions. I’m a sniffling, snotty mess. I just want him to be here. I don’t want to be doing this on the phone. I don’t want to be by myself. Isn’t this moment supposed to be more like that damn iPhone commercial?

He is so calm. “Wow, this is a blessing,” says my not-so-religious fiance.

We talk on the phone forever that night. I pace the backyard, throw the ball for the dogs, walk around the kitchen, my ten year old cow dog watches me carefully trying to nuzzle my tear stained face.

The tears subside and I start to think about who this little person will be. The nervousness and scared feelings start to subside and before I know it, I’m excited. And T’s excited. And we’re having a baby.

Throughout the next few weeks the cramping continues. I had no idea about this, but honestly, it’s freaking painful. Like almost take you to your knees, can’t talk through it painful. Similar to what contractions are like (or so I hear). A couple of times we are out in public and I have to lean over and focus on breathing to get through the cramping. Once I call the doctor’s office they tell me that this is perfectly normal. It’s the uterus stretching or the egg implanting or some other type of biology happening. Huh. That’s fun. The nurse I speak to says that unless I have bleeding everything is A-OK. Relief.

I’m nauseous during this time, but I only throw up once or twice. I start keeping saltines in my purse, desk and car. I also invest in a bag of lemon drops. If I have something in my mouth most of the time I feel pretty good.

That’s what she said.

Sorry, I couldn’t resist. I’m mature like that.

It doesn’t take long in these first few weeks for me to be waking up constantly to pee. My boobs ache. I’m sleeping a lot.

In our 7th week we head to St. Croix to get married. I’m nervous about traveling. What if I get sick all over the plane? What if I don’t have the stamina to enjoy the trip? What if something happens to the baby?

Turns out it’s smooth sailing. I have the best time. I’m surrounded by my closest family and friends. I can’t drink, but no one notices. In fact, after our wedding my brother makes a comment about how I was “so drunk” at our wedding reception. Ha ha suckers. I fooled you all!

Weeks 8-11

Once we are on our honeymoon my body gives up. After a week and a half of entertaining 60 people, I don’t have it in me anymore. I spend most of the honeymoon sleeping. Miraculously, the nausea is completely gone by this point. I can eat like a normal person and I do. We are staying at an all-inclusive and we eat approximately 7 times a day. They had a wood-fired pizza oven open all the time!

When we get back to the real world, life starts moving way too fast. A new job opportunity presents itself. I start sharing our news with a few of our closest friends. We finally have our first doctor’s appointment at Week 10. We get to see the little monster and it brings tears to my eyes. Hearing the heartbeat is life changing. In that moment, this little baby becomes real. I realize just how much I love it already. I suddenly get my parents a little bit more.

Week 12

Week 12 is a big deal. This is the turning point. The moment when the chance of miscarriage  decreases dramatically. We had been waiting for this week for a long time. It felt like it took a long time to get here.

Week 13-14

As I’m rounding out the first trimester, the fatigue actually gets worse. I come home every night and take a nap before we eat dinner. I sleep a solid 10-12 hours every Friday night. I take a nap every Saturday and Sunday. I pee constantly. I’m not hungry and my weight has actually dropped since finding out I am pregnant. However, a lower weight does not mean smaller clothes. In fact, my regular clothes aren’t comfortable anymore so I buy my first maternity clothes.

At this point, we’re so close to the second trimester. I find out that I got the new job. I’m nervous to start telling people that I’m pregnant. After all, aren’t they tired of the Travis/Jenny train?

 

Coming soon to a blog near you…The Second Trimester.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “The First Trimester

  1. Lynnette says:

    So fun to catch up!!! I can’t imagine going through the drama of a wedding while high on pregnancy hormones!

Leave a Reply

