What would you like to name our baby?

It seems these days that the first question people ask after learning that we are expecting a boy is, “Do you have a name picked out?” ”

The short answer is kind of, but I’d like to wait to meet him before bestowing a name that will follow him his whole life.Ā  I’d like to see his little face and eyes first. I refrain from sharing our name ideas because of people’s inability to refrain from sharing their opinions. Let’s face it. Even when they don’t intend on sharing their opinion it comes across in body language or in what they don’t say.

My mom sends me her names ideas handwritten on scraps of paper in a white envelope every few weeks. It started with a mix of boy and girl names, then only boy names, and finally full-on first middle and last combinations. I love the enthusiasm and that people care so much about this little baby already.

So now I’m asking for it! Give me your best boy names – let me have it! I’m ready for your suggestions.

What would you like to name our baby?

Please leave your suggestion(s) in the comments section. I promise that I will not publicly scorn them unless they are truly ridiculous (Angus, Tupac).

12 thoughts on “What would you like to name our baby?

  1. Alison says:

    Sidney Pierce. Capitol of a country you’ve been to and dead president, both a cool band and a tendency towards money. *-)

  2. Lynnette says:

    Oh, I really wanted to name a boy Preston, but the hubby didn’t like it.

    And I’ll also say that newborn babies look NOTHING like what they eventually become, so although I can see why you’d want to wait, keep in mind my daughter looked full-on Asian when she was born, and look at her now! šŸ˜‰

  3. tim says:

    How about Tom or Richard?

  4. Emma says:

    Chase. Because I couldn’t use Chase. Chase Dear? Yea, couldn’t do it to him.

    And I agree w/ Lynnette – having a name before he was born made it seem more real…. calling him Logan instead of ‘the baby’ was much more realistic. And it’s nice to have the hospital nurses call him by his name instead of baby too. šŸ™‚

  5. thedurttybride says:

    Alison – funny that you should mention Pierce. Pearce is a family name and I’ve always liked it.

    Lynette – Speaking of looking Asian, please don’t talk to my family about any of my childhood photos up until age 8. It’s a popular topic at Christmas every year.

    Tim – I like Seamus and Tom, but Richard has too many possible playground nicknames.

    Emma – I have two friends who have named their baby Chase in the last year. A third would just be a copycat baby!

  6. Erin Berg says:

    I can’t give you the names I really really like because I’m saving those. šŸ™‚ But here are a few I’ve throught about before…

    Levi
    Mack
    Evan
    Brock

  7. Erin Berg says:

    “thought” šŸ™‚

  8. thedurttybride says:

    Erin – I totally understand the “secret baby name.” That’s part of the reason why I don’t want to share our top 3 list! It’s like that episode of Sex and the City!

  9. Scott says:

    Sound logic here. But if my wife and I tried this our kid would probably end up named either “preciouspoo” or “cuteface.”

    Both of which would make high school difficult.

  10. Aunt Beth says:

    Ok, since you asked- Declan. That’s what I wanted Kate to name Lucas but she didn’t like the sound of Declan Durnan. Declan Petty sounds great though.

  11. thedurttybride says:

    Aunt Beth – how do you pronounce that?

Leave a Reply

