Pregnancy Acupuncture

In my first trimester, summer allergies hit and started kicking my ass. I felt a lot of pressure in my sinuses and my doc didn’t want me taking anything until I passed the 12 week mark. Sinus pressure has to be one of the most annoying allergy symptoms, especially when you can’t dive into the Benadryl or  Zyrtec.

A nurse at my doctor’s office recommended the neti pot. “Hmmp,” I scoffed in my head. “I’m not a rookie at this allergy thing.”

Neti pots are amazing. It’s like a little teapot that you fill with a salt water mixture, stick up your nose and flush out your sinuses. Kind of gross, but pretty amazing at the same time.

Acupunture during pregnancyUnfortunately, this time the neti pot was no match for my allergies. I started researching other natural options and came across acupuncture. With the approval of my doctor, I was off to get needles stuck in my face (among other places).

It turns out, in the hands of the right acupuncturist, acupuncture is a really safe, helpful way to alleviate many pregnancy ailments.  I started going for my allergies and now I go every two weeks for a little tune up. Sometimes we work on my sleep, sometimes on the aches and pains that come with a stretching tummy and growing baby. Within a few appointments the pressure I felt in my sinuses was gone.

The best part? Every two weeks I have an appointment at noon so I can take a little cat nap. In a weird way, acupuncture is more relaxing than getting a massage. After the acupuncturist inserts the needles she leaves me in a nice, dark room with that calming yoga/massage music. It’s quite nice…it may be my happy place.

A lot of people get freaked out by the needles, but honestly acupuncture is completely painless. It’s truly invigorating.

If you’re in the Reno-Tahoe area I see Dr. Brooke Hollinger at Eight Dimensions.

*I should disclose that this isn’t my first rodeo with acupuncture. In the past I saw an acupuncturist to try and balance my thyroid hormones.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

