The Pregnancy Filter

Has anyone else noticed that when you’re pregnant it’s like you are treated the best and worst you’ve ever been treated?

On one hand people fawn over you, always asking, “How are you feeling?”

On the other, some people don’t seem to hold back topics that would otherwise be seen as quite rude.

For instance, my 87 year old grandmother thinks nothing of asking, “How’s your weight?” during our phone calls.

Because I live in a small town, I can’t tell you all the fun tid-bits I’ve experienced thus far, for fear that some people may be identifiable. Perhaps, they’ve remarked similar things to you while you were carrying another human being?

 

kickboxing

Don't make me smack you.

 

Pregnancy is full of enough ups and downs without the fun comments from family, friends, and strangers alike. So for the more dense I’m providing the following filter. I would like you (and by you, I mean the percentage of this universe that has a hard time with their internal filter) to stop and think of these things before speaking. I may print these on a t-shirt and wear it every day.

  • My size. Yeah, I’m getting bigger by the second. I’m almost six months pregnant and that’s what is supposed to be happening. Thank. You. Very. Much.
  • Your horrifying birth story. Don’t really need to hear that. Birth will be a reality before I know it. Let me keep my rose-colored glasses on for a bit longer.
  • The size of my baby. I’m 5’8″ and not small, but that doesn’t mean I’m a morbidly obese giant. By no means does my stature allow you to guess that my baby will be 15 lbs. Yes, that happened.
  • And finally, if you’ve never been pregnant, try and refrain from commenting on what I’m going through or how the rest of my pregnancy will go. When you are pregnant, every day, week and month is different. If you caught me on a bad day, you might not get to see beautiful, glowing pregnant woman. Instead, you may see the exhausted, starving, slightly bitchy one. They both exist.

Please share with me how the Pregnancy Filter has affected you. What fun tid-bits have folks shared/spat at you while you were preggo?

And yes, maybe you are catching me on a bitchy day.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “The Pregnancy Filter

  1. Emma says:

    This cracks me up! It’s so true – the comments are ridiculous! “Are you sure you’re only having one?” and any comment about “eating for two” drove me nuts! I even remember having to walk away during a family pool party for fear of pushing an old woman into the pool. 😉 Towards the end, hearing “you look miserable” pissed me off – great, I not only feel it but I look it too?

    I think around the 7th month I lost MY filter (I highly recommend it!). I would just respond to the crude remarks with my own crude remarks. Josh used to whisper ‘filter’ under his breath to try and remind me to zip it. 🙂

  2. thedurttybride says:

    I’m so glad someone else had this experience – it’s almost entertaining – the things that come out of these people’s mouths! I haven’t lost my cool yet, but I’m sure as the next couple months go by, my buttons will get pushed a few more times 🙂

  3. thedurttybride says:

    This blogger sums this phenomena up in a rather nice way – http://pregnancywoes.wordpress.com/?s=Dear+General+Public&submit=Search

  4. […] I didn’t care when people tried to guess what we were having, but I definitely understand when those little things people say push you over the edge. […]

Leave a Reply

