The Weighting Game

Beginning in February 2010 I made a re-commitment to health and fitness. After trying so many different methods of losing weight, I did something kind of extreme. I joined a gym like no other. I’ve written about MRI Reno before, but I’ll say it again: it is truly a revolutionary place. MRI stands for Maximum Results Inc. If you put the time, effort and commitment into working out at MRI, maximum results is exactly what you get. In a matter of 4-5 months I lost 20 lbs., increased my fitness and decreased my body fat. I can honestly say that the emotional changes were equal or greater than the fitness changes.

Then I got knocked up. And I kept going to MRI for awhile – actually, I went through most of my first trimester. And then I was just so damned tired. And I started a new job. And realized that we had to start saving for daycare, diapers, and only the finest baby fashion (I joke, I joke). I found it hard to squeeze in exercise. I’m a habitual over-commiter.

During this time the scale hadn’t budged. I had no appetite for about four months. I slept like a hibernating bear.

I didn’t start gaining weight until Week 17. And then – whoo-boy! – it was like my body was making up for lost time. At Week 22 I’m up about 9 pounds. I totally understand that everyone gains pregnancy weight differently. I get it. Really.

But.

Ughhh.

When you’ve struggled with weight issues physically and emotionally for so long, it’s kind of tough when that scale starts creeping up.

But.

Ughhh.

I get it. I understand that my body is gaining weight to sustain another life. My heart knows how beautiful that is. How it is an absolute miracle and gift that this teensy tiny baby is capable of growing and changing because of my body.

But.

Baby Beluga

I’m a rookie at this. So questions pop in my head like, “Will I be a whale by Week 40?”

I understand that most of the weight comes off very quickly after delivery. I’ve even read that breastfeeding can be a lot like liposuction (sign me up!).

The rationale part of me knows that the only thing that really matters is that a healthy, baby boy shows up around mid-February.

So while I grapple with feeling blue about gaining weight, I’m almost constantly amazed by this journey of trying to be healthy for two. The toughest part is changing how I view success. For the better part of a year I’ve gauged success on how my clothes fit and the number on the scale. Now, it’s about growing a healthy baby, being fit for delivery and knowing that when that little baby is born I’ll have the tools in my toolbox to get back on track.

I know other woman have dealt with this: the fear that your body may never be the same again. Please share with me what life was like after the baby – did your body bounce back? When could you hit the gym again? Did you ever get the blues from that creeping number on the scale?

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “The Weighting Game

  1. TP says:

    I think your beautiful.

  2. Aunt Beth says:

    Jen,

    I’m still trying to lose my pregnancy weight !

    Seriously, I loved being pregnant and wearing maternity clothes. They were so much more comfortable than regular clothes. It’s the only time in your life when it’s ok to wear elastic waistbands!

  3. thedurttybride says:

    Thanks TP! You’re not too bad yourself 🙂

  4. thedurttybride says:

    Aunt Beth – Maternity clothes are comfy, but some of them are so ugly!

    It’s funny because when I first started buying them, they were so big and I thought, “These are never going to fit.”

    Well, now they fit like a charm 😉

  5. laura says:

    I am a fan of the elastic waist–but I do live in a very casual place. Keep active, you should gain about 20 lbs for a healthy pregnancy, maybe more, I’m not up to date on the current number. There are so many flowy empire style tops and dresses==black pants., a flowy top with cleavage, you are gorgeous! love Laura

Leave a Reply

