Gratitude

What are you grateful for?

I was stressing out the other night, letting the never ending to-do list circle through my brain. Things I need to do, things I should do, bills to be paid, animals to be taken care of, how I never seem to get enough sleep, work, work, work, PRSA. You know the kind of stuff that wakes you up at 2 a.m. and then 3:15 a.m. and then 4:30 a.m.

I was getting kind of down and then I was suddenly struck with just how lucky I am. How amazing my life is. So I stopped thinking about all the To-Do’s and started thinking about the many blessings I have in my life.

Which got me thinking.

What if I focused everyday on the good? I’ve been working on my fitness, but what have I been doing for myself mentally and spiritually? Not a lot. Not really anything.

I’ve heard about people keeping Gratitude Journals and often, since life is so funny, I was reminded of them by my boss this morning. It was just the KITP (kick in the pants) that I needed. At lunch I ran over to Target and I bought both myself and my boss a cheap little notebook that we could keep as Gratitude Journals.

Be grateful.

Let’s see how this little experiment goes, shall we?

Do you keep a Gratitude Journal? How do you look after your mental and spiritual well-being? No, really. I need to know.

5 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Annie says:

    This is a great idea, Jenny! I did keep a gratitude journal for several years when I was recovering from lupus. My aunt had given me a beautiful journal with a gorgeous embroidered cover. It was too pretty to be anything other than a gratitude journal! The content was pretty fluid. I didn’t write in there every day. Sometimes the entries were more about the good things that happened that day, or something that I was looking forward to. Give it a try! And be patient with yourself. DO NOT let this become one more thing on your to-do list.

  2. thedurttybride says:

    Annie – such a good point about the To-Do list. Can you just imagine me saying, “Spiritual well-being? Check!” Kind of defeats the purpose of keeping the journal, huh? I will take your advice to heart and remember that this whole process is about de-stressing!

  3. Alexia Bratiotis says:

    I was JUST talking about this last night with a friend. She was saying that she believes a gratitude journal is hugely important. I would have to agree. I’ve started and stopped one a couple of times. What I like about it of couse is that there are no rules – some days I’m grateful for seven things, other days I write a whole page about just one thing.

    The other way that I nuture my spiritual self is through prayer – real, deep prayer. Standing in front of an icon and truly talking to God. I give Him my worries and concerns and ask for guidance about how to tackle things. Then my relationship with God becomes something to enter into my gratitude journal.

  4. Sally says:

    Jenny,

    I’ve added a “grateful for” section at the end of my journal entries. Granted my journal entries and gratitude entries are sporadic at times, but it is REALLY helpful to me. Being a perfectionist, I tend to see the glass half empty, but finding even the tiniest of things each day to think about, rejoice in, and reflect upon helps me a lot. Sometimes I am grateful for the simplest of things…like I have windows that open so I can let fresh air in or the songs of birds that peacefully wake me up in the morning. But in the worst of times it is good to focus my attention for just a few minutes on things in my life that ARE wonderful. I must say….you’ve shown up a few times in my “grateful for” section!

    • thedurttybride says:

      Awww – shucks Sally! I’m grateful for you too! Your friendship means the world to me. Hang in there – you have so much to be grateful for.

Leave a Reply

