Wedding Invite Language

This week I’ve been working on the wedding invite language because, low and behold, it’s 2010 and my wedding is 6 months away and people needs to be getting invited already.

I’m planning on sending invites in March, which I know is still 2 months away, but I’d like to get cracking on ordering and preparing the invites. I have a lot going on in the next two months (work, life, the usual suspects).

I’m leaning towards using more formal language for the invite because the theme of our destination wedding is “island elegant.” I want people to have a great time, but I don’t want bikini clad guests showing up at the reception. I may be having a wedding on a Bartyles and James budget, but let it be known that I am one classy broad. Yep, class-Y. Not that my friends Bartyles and James won’t show up at some point.

Nothing makes a pool party a PARTY like wine coolers, right? Anybody?

Anyhoo, like a lot of modern couples Travis and I find ourselves in an interesting predicament when it comes to traditional invite language.

Here’s the sitch:

  • My parents are chipping in for the major wedding expenses (reception, booze, flowers, photographer)
  • Travis’s mom is also helping with wedding expenses
  • Travis and I are supplying fundage for the wedding
  • Travis’s parents are divorced and his father passed away a few years ago

I’m leaning towards mentioning both my parents and Travis’s mom on the invite. I think it’s the fair thing to do to mention both sets of parents. I can’t wait to get the invites ordered and into my greedy little bride hands.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Wedding Invite Language

  1. Camille says:

    We wanted to include all of our parents as well, as everyone pitched in whether it was financially, creatively, or just supported us in some way. Our invites went something like:

    “Together with their parents, Nolan and Camille request the pleasure of your company at their wedding celebration.”

    Then we included when and where.

    Anyway you do it, it will be fine! You could also swap out “parents” for “families.” I’m excited to see the final product!

Leave a Reply

