Resolutions

new-years-2010

Happy New Year Everybody!

Has anyone ever made a New Year’s Resolution that they have stuck to?

My resolutions are always the same – lose weight, don’t stress so much, be kind to myself, blah, blah, blah. It’s not that I don’t want to achieve these things. It’s that somewhere in between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31 life happens (and cheesecake, french fries, milk shakes, delicious Thai curry – you get the point).

I’m not making any resolutions this year. Do I plan on getting to the gym more? Am I going to try and get back on the healthy eating wagon? Yes. Will I still stress and worry? Duh. I’m only a first born freak out machine.

2009 was a bittersweet year. It started out amazingly when Travis and I got engaged. What a beautiful way to start a New Year! It had it’s share of bitter too – battling my parents over a destination wedding, going through four rounds of layoffs and three pay cuts, being audited by the IRS (thank you guv-nuh), making a tough money decision.

Despite the crappiness, I look back on 2009 as a year that my relationship with Travis deepened. As we became more committed, I was struck by my new sense of duty to our upcoming marriage and my role as his wife. He has been my rock this year. What an amazing man I find myself with! I truly am so very lucky.

I was also blessed to stay employed throughout 2009 and even found myself at a new company where I have learned so much and feel that I have so much room to grow.

I know that many people are continuing to struggle and I hope that 2010 finds us regaining ground and becoming hopeful again of the things to come.

So here’s to everyone who will bravely not be making any NYRs. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

