Dear Weight Watchers

I open my inbox today and what is wating for me? A little note that begins, “Jennifer, come back to Weight Watchers and save $25.”

Hmmmp. Weight Watchers you hardly know me at all. I have not gone by Jennifer since first grade (ok, except for that short year after college when I thought it sounded more professional). And also, WW, you completely let me down and left me feeling completely disillusioned by the weight loss game and your GD points system made me obsess over every freaking thing I put in my mouth for six months.

So, no, I decline your invitation to come back or to save $25. No thanks.

I guess you figured out that I quit Weight Watchers. A while ago. Like almost 6 months. And guess what has happened? I gained back the 6 pounds that I lost while on that program. I can also still fit in all my clothes.

I didn’t become a morbidly obese person who sits in a closet and eats Twinkies in the dark. Yeah, I actually eat vegetables because I like them.

Here’s the thing: I followed the WW program. I tracked every little itty, bitty point. I went to my weekly meetings.

I DID EVERYTHING THEY TOLD ME TO!

And I lost 6 pounds in 6 months. Not cool. So not cool.

It was a lot of effort (and money) for a very small pay off.

I finally hit my breaking point when I went to a meeting and the leader said everyone was going to lose 10 pounds in 6 weeks. I wanted to throw my hands in the air and yell, “Are you freaking kidding me? What makes you think that is even possible for me after doing this program for 6 months and losing a pound a month?”

And that’s when it hit me. They count on you having failures. It is far easier to keep someone coming to meetings if you tell them over and over again that they must not be following the program, eating too much, or not working out enough (or too much).

Their business model has to bank on people coming back over and over again, creating a cycle of people who obsess over food, berate themselves for not losing, and then return with eyes full of hope that this time it will be different.

I don’t want to harp too much on WW because I did find their materials to be really helpful and the meetings, for the most part, were motivating. I think they have the right idea and for a lot of people WW is a savior that they desperately need.

Now I’ve tried WW three times and I can say positively, without a doubt, that this is not the solution for me. It just didn’t work for my body or my mind. What I’m doing now is trying to make good decisions every day and trying to eat the right amount of food for my body. I haven’t lost any weight, but I feel like a giant weight has been lifted from my mind.

I may not lose 50 pounds before the wedding, but I’m tired of worrying about looking perfect.The man who is in love with me likes me just the way I am. And it’s about time that I do the same.

Leave a Reply

