Learning to Scuba

padi_logoThis past weekend Travis and I started our Scuba certification through Tropical Penguin. Saturday was spent in the classroom going over the basics and Sunday we spent four hours in the pool going over a variety of Scuba skills. For the most part, I had a good time, but I’m struggling to figure out the mask clearing thing. Every time we have to do anything that require my mask not to be on my face I stop breathing and convince myslef that I am drowning. I burst to the surface like a humpback whale until I figure out that I actually still have the regulator in my mouth and am perfectly fine. This week I will be practicing in the shower and our condo’s pool. I really want to get this skill down and the perfectionist in me can’t stand that I am the only one in the class who is having a problem with it.

One of the fun things about the class that I hadn’t expected was what a bonding experience this was for Travis and I. There is something about learning a new skill that is so much fun and with Scuba you are really dependent on your dive buddy. For instance, one of the things we had to practice was a scenario where we had to pretend that one of us was out of air. We had to communicate completely through hand signals, take one regulator out of our mouth and then get the spare regulator from our partner. It really took some team work.

We have one more weekend of Scuba training and then we do our first dive in Lake Tahoe the following weekend. Now that we’ve been in the pool, I’m really excited to try out our new skills in the open water.

Scuba is one thing that we are really looking forward to doing when we are on St. Croix for our wedding and on our honeymoon (wherever that may be).

I’ll keep you posted and let you know as we continue our training!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

