A (Seriously) Long Engagement

The date is set. The STD’s done (well, almost – if only Travis and my mom could finish the one assignment they’ve been given). The color palette chosen. The wedding website built. The reception location is on the cusp of being chosen. What’s a bride-to-be to do?

Times ticking, ticking, ticking into the future (Thanks Seal)

Time's ticking, ticking, ticking into the future (Thanks Seal)

When we first got engaged our married friends told us that there would be a few months of big decisions, followed by a lull, followed by a sprint of wedding-related business until the big day. I didn’t believe them. Ha! I’ve really had no wedding business to take care of lately. And although I’m busy in so many other ways (work, attempting to lose 40 lbs. , spending time with the fiance and pets, hanging out with my girlfriends, working my butt off on the freelance project) I miss having a wedding task or two.

We chose a long engagement because we wanted to have plenty of time to plan for St. Croix and to give our guests plenty of time to make travel arrangements. We got engaged on January 3 and will marry on July 3, 2010 – making our engagement exactly 18 months. I’m still convinced that was a good idea, but there are days when I wish we were getting married already. I’m antsy.

Any tips on how to make the days go by faster? Or any wedding tasks I’m overlooking?

Tagged , ,

One thought on “A (Seriously) Long Engagement

  1. jdurnan says:

    Lexie suggested that I create a paper chain or a wedding calendar similar to an Advent Calendar. Will keep you in the loop if I end up doing this.

Leave a Reply

