Nerd Alert

I went to Reno-Tahoe WordCamp yesterday and had a glorious day of nerdiness. It was such an amazing day with awesome presentations. Going into it, I thought, I sure hope this is worth my Saturday. And it was. Tenfold.

If you understand this we should be friends. Call me.

I’m a nerd, a geek, a dork. I’ve embraced it. I love learning, being challenged, talking about science and code. Yep, I’m pretty much awesome. But not quite as awesome as some of the people that I met yesterday. In my office I am hands down the nerdiest person. I once freaked out on the Marketing Director for not knowing who Nikola Tesla is. What? You don’t know who he is either. Read this. Immediately.

Yesterday, I felt like a novice. In a room of people my age (some younger, a handful older), I pulled out my mini legal notepad to scribble down everything while a lot of the folks around me pulled out Macs, PCs, and iPhones.

Ummm, A) I have a hand-me-down ThinkPad because the technology Gods have not smiled upon me yet (for fear of people asking me what antique store I purchased it at I will not bring it out in public) and B) I still believe in writing (Ms. Handt, my third grade teacher, didn’t teach me cursive for nothing).

I’m not going to apologize for this since I’ve always claimed to be a hybrid. Not a complete web geek. Not a complete snobby marketing person. I’m a little of both. I like trouble shooting code and buying shoes (preferably not at the same time, too much to focus on).

The high I felt yesterday after leaving WordCamp was awesome. Part of me would like to become a WordCamp groupie and follow these around the world. It made me feel connected and excited, part of a community and stoked to go out to the real world and apply everything I had learned.

After a day of having my mind blown, Travis and I had dinner with some friends at Jazz. The food is good, the service is good and if you go make sure to try the Beniets. They are awesome.

I can’t wait to start on the redesign of The Durtty Bride.

Later gators!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Nerd Alert

  1. juggler5 says:

    Hey!

    I just came across your blog, and I am thoroughly enjoying it! Check out my blog, http://www.aestheticsofthenerdy.wordpress.com!!! I blog about the beauty and artful nature of all things nerdy!

    -juggler5

Leave a Reply

