Planning a Destination Wedding During a Recession & Tequila

It finally got me. Yep, on Tuesday the recession slapped me across the face. Then it threw me over a table, gave me a bloody nose and said “Face it, you aren’t  immune to this world we are facing.”

My coworkers and I were told that we are going to have to take a 10% pay cut. It sucks. Pure and simple. I’m grateful that I still have a job and great benefits, but I’m working through the emotions of figuring out how we are going to live on 10% less and pay for a wedding.

I had planned on writing a post about our budget at some point so I guess today is the day. We don’t have a huge budget, but we are lucky that our parents are helping and that we both have some savings. Now we are looking at having to make that money stretch a little further.

We are going to have to get creative. I’m seeing more DIY in my life.

Travis and I have been blessed abundantly though. I truly believe God (or the universe or whatever you believe in) was looking out for us this week. The day I heard the news that my salary was being decreased I got my first, well- paying freelance job. Funny that the amount of the freelance job was exactly what I would be losing in pay.

tequila2Anyway, it’s been a roller coaster of a week and I’m looking forward to the weekend and our trip to Mexico next week. Our friends are getting married in Cabo San Lucas and it will be our first trip to Mexico, our first time at an all-inclusive resort, and our first experience with a destination wedding. Bring on the tequila!

WW weigh in is tomorrow and I’ve got to say that I really have been battling emotional eating this week. I caught myself having a little extra French bread, inhaling my entire dessert at an event we went to on Tuesday night, and going for that extra glass of wine. So what do you do when you know you are emotional eating and you just don’t care? Sometimes can it be healthy to drown your sorrows in carbs?

I’ve started weighing myself everyday. Some would argue that this isn’t healthy (and I used to be one of those people), but I’m finding that it is helping to keep me motivated and in check with myself. I think if I hadn’t been hopping on the scale every morning this week I may have been looking at a huge gain tomorrow. Now I’m just hoping that I stayed steady or close to where I was at last week.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

