Bridezilla

Who me?

Who me?

My dad told my brother that I am a Bridezilla. I disagree. So I went to Wikipedia and found this definition:

Bridezilla (a portmanteau of bride and Godzilla) is a generic term used to describe a difficult, unpleasant, perfectionist bride who leaves aggravated family, friends and bridal vendors in her wake. A bridezilla is obsessed with her wedding as her perfect day and will disregard the feelings of the family, bridesmaids and even her groom in her quest for the perfect wedding.

I also found this site through Wikipedia – Etiquette Hell – Bridezillas and Groomonsters. From the examples on that site I think I have quite a ways to go before being a bridezilla (I have no intentions of becoming one FYI).

I found my dad’s assessment of me as a bridezilla a little offensive as I don’t believe I have exhibited any behavior of this nature.

Do I know what I want? Yes.

Do I know what Travis wants? Yes.

Do I want the day to be perfect? Yes.

Am I uber organized? Why, yes I am.

Does that make me crazy? NOPE!

Couldn't Be

Couldn't Be

Then I thought to myself – my dad is the one who suggested we have a pig roast for our reception. He may not be on the same page as me. Island Elegant does not equal dead pig being roasted in an open pit.

My dear readers I challenge you to share your Bridezilla or Groomonster stories with me. Keep me in check. If I truly start to exhibit Bridezilla-like behavior call me out on it. But please, please make sure it is justified. Don’t throw the label of Bridezilla around carelessly. It’s just not nice.

Tagged ,

9 thoughts on “Bridezilla

  1. Alexia says:

    My favorite part of this entry was when you said “Do I know what Travis wants?” “Yes.” Lol!

  2. jdurnan says:

    Hmmm…yes, maybe that came off a little zillaish. I should have phrased it that Travis is involved in the planning process and gets a say in things. Oops. Good catch.

  3. Annie says:

    Take that talk with a grain of salt! I heard the “b” word from my family, too. DH and I tag-teamed the wedding planning and worked hard to stay calm and build consensus among many throughout the whole thing (while still staying true to our vision of the day) – so at first, this was totally annoying.

    But then it became hilarious, once my mom was the one bringing the car to a screeching halt and yelling at David’s Bridal when we discovered a yellow stain on my just-cleaned dress.

    Weddings do crazy things to people – least of all the two people getting married.

  4. Cindy says:

    Jenny,

    As your wedding planner let me say first and foremost that you are absolutely NOT a bridezilla!!! When planning a destination wedding, communication is so important – so is knowing what you want! I find that so many of my detail oriented, particular brides find themselves apologizing to me for being detailed and particular. DON’T APOLOGIZE :0) That is an absolute dream to me as the more I know you, the more I know what you like and equally important dislike, the better I and my team are able to create the experience you want and expect. So, keep those ideas coming! Be creative! Be particular! Have fun! … and when the big day comes – RELAX and trust that we have it all under control for you. :0) Our true mission is for you to walk away thinking “wow this was better than I expected”. Our only request is that on that day, you trust us. Trust that we are as particular as you are and want you to remember forever what an amazing day it was. :0) :0)

    Smiles!
    Cindy
    (see we do read your blog ;0P… now if I can only get cracking on mine… so much to do!!)

    p.s. We had a meeting yesterday with the florist and chatted about protea, queen protea and pin cushions… all stand up well in the weather and are possible… I’ll be putting Gloria http://www.antilleslilies.com directly in touch with you to help you get a handle on costs, etc.

  5. jdurnan says:

    Thanks Cindy! Your comment made my day! And I am so excited about the Protea. I’ll have likes and dislikes to you soon. I think I’m going to forward your comment to my dad. That’ll show him!

  6. justdandi says:

    I was just in a wedding for a bridezilla. From what I read you seem like you are on a pretty even keel :).

  7. Hahaha, yesterday my fiance told me I’m a bridezilla, but, as he said it, “in the most loving way possible”. Ah well. The way I see it, I know what I want too, and I don’t want to end up “settling” on my vendors… so I don’t see what’s wrong with shopping around and taking your time choosing… and hahahaha, god, the roast pig idea… hilarious!!! The thing I’ve learnt when it comes to weddings is: everyone has an opinion, and you’re going to have to turn some down at some point in time. The key is to do it as nicely as possible. If they refuse to understand, then they’re just being guestzillas!!!

  8. jdurnan says:

    Guestzilla! I love it. I had never thought of that term, but it is definitely true that along with your family, guests and friends also have their opinions and ideas about what your wedding should be. Such a fine balance to strike between being detailed and being a bridezilla.

Leave a Reply

