Mystery Solved

The Thyroid Gland - the master of my universe

The Thyroid Gland - the master of my universe

So I know that I have gone on and on about staying positive during the weight loss game. And I am. Really.

But I had started to wonder if something else was up because it has been so hard to lose weight. I mean, really really hard. I’ve been in this place before and I always start to blame myself – maybe I’m not being diligent enough, I should work out more, etc.

A couple of weeks ago I started to feel tipped off that maybe something else was up. I had been feeling more fatigued and had started to need naps again (even during the work day – I’d slip home for a quick power nap during lunch). I started to blame myself – why was I so lazy? why couldn’t I keep up with Travis? what was wrong with me?

Then it hit me – THYROID!

Some of you might know that I have Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis (I told a friend that once and he responded by saying, “Bless you.”).  It is a crappy autoimmune disorder and I was diagnosed with it about 6 years ago. I’ve had a lot of ups and downs with it and have seen a ton of doctors. Finally, I started seeing a doctor who I truly believe listens to me and not just my blood work.

Today I had an appointment with him. The last time I saw him I was on my way to dropping 10 pounds and it had seemed almost effortless. I was still tracking everything I ate and working out, but the weight was coming off. I was ecstatic during this time. I had a ton of energy, felt very enthusiastic, and was so excited that I was actually losing weight.

Fast forward three months and I feel fatigued, stressed out and overwhelmed. I’ve been doing WW with minimum results and am really starting to get frustrated.

The doctor and I started looking over my blood work and BAM! Mystery solved. My TSH, Thyroid Stimulating Hormone, level was through the roof. A normal level for this is 0.5 – 1.5. Mine was at 13!

13! It bears repeating again.

Now the reason why my TSH is so out of whack is because the last time I saw the doctor in November my blood work showed that I was slightly hyperthyroid, rather than hypothyroid, which is what Hashimotos is. Because there are risks with having or producing too much thyroid hormone, my doctor, Dr. Robert Rand (who is awesome BTW) decided that I needed to lower my dose a bit.

It looks like we may have lowered a bit too much though, which threw my body into whackiness.

The moral of this story is that you have to follow the signs that your body is showing you. My intuition was telling me that things weren’t right and I’m glad that I have a doctor who listens to me. It looks like the solution might be that I have to stay in a slight hyperthyroid state to be at my healthiest.

The coolest thing? My doctor gets that and is supportive of it.

I feel so relieved and so happy to know that I am going to be back on track to be my healthiest soon!

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Mystery Solved

  1. Annie says:

    Finding a doctor you jibe with has got to be at least 80% of the battle! Congrats, Jenny – be very, very proud of the fact that you didn’t give up on yourself.

  2. Alexia says:

    Whew – I am so glad that you got to the bottom of this. It sounds like it will be something you have to continually monitor, but to now have the support of your doctor is such a plus. I love that you listened to your inner voice. Here’s to your continued good health!

  3. jdurnan says:

    Thanks girls! I love you so much! Your support means the world to me!

Leave a Reply

