Friday Weigh In

Down 1.4! So about 4 weeks in and I’m still pretty much breaking even when it comes to losing weight. This would have been the point in the past where I would have thrown in the towel, but not this time baby.

Photo Courtesy of Kleinfeld.com

Photo Courtesy of Kleinfeld.com

The idea of wedding dress shopping has to be the best motivation in the world. Enough motivation to keep me attending weekly meetings, counting my points and getting up at 6 a.m. to have my ass kicked by Jillian Michaels. Yep, that idea of slipping into a gorgeous gown and playing model as my friends and family sign off on the dress of my dreams is worth sticking out this weight loss game.

In my other nutrition class we talk about how sometimes it can take months for your body to trust you. When we yo-yo diet or don’t eat consistently our bodies go into famine mode. Since my ancestors were Irish I’m fairly certain that I have some sort of extra gene that tells my body, “You hold onto that fat! Don’t let it go!!!”

When we start eating correctly (fruits and veggies, lean proteins, whole grains, small meals and snacks frequently) our bodies adjust to the idea that we are not starving to death and start to let go of the fat.

I think after a holiday season of overindulgence and a schedule that has been anything but normal, my body is finally getting back on the band wagon.

I still have 7 pounds to go until I reach my first goal, but I know that I will get there if I stay the course. I’m not going to lie and say that I don’t feel defeated by this sometimes, but really what choice do I have?

So here’s to another week of eating filling foods, working out and staying positive because Lord knows I want to go dress shopping!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

