What’s a girl to do with .2?

Celebrate that’s what. I headed down to my 7:15 a.m. Weight Watchers meeting today and dropped .2 lbs. I could feel bummed about this, but the truth of the matter is .2 is a quarter of a pound and a quarter of a pound if about the equivalent of a quarter stick of butter. So I lost a quarter stick of butter – Woo Hoo!

I lost a quarter of this!

I lost a quarter of this!

In all seriousness Weight Watchers is about teaching long term weight loss, which means there are big weeks and small weeks. No Biggest Loser going on in WW. And it’s about learning what works for your body.

Between my return to WW and the nutrition program I’m doing through Renown I’m learning more and more about what good nutrition really is. Like my nutritionist says, “It’s about eating things that are alive.” For instance fruit, veggies, lean protein and whole grains. All of those things will go bad if not eaten in a timely manner. The box of ho-hos that have been in your pantry since last summer will outlive the apocalypse and still be around to be enjoyed in times of emotional break down.

So what makes the ho-hos stay alive? Chemicals and preservatives, which our bodies treat like poison. I know I sound a little hippie right now, but I find this fascinating!

FYI – I made an amazing recipe the other night – Sesame-Chile Chicken with Gingered Watermelon Salsa. It was awesome! The marinade on the chicken is fantastic, but the real goodness is the salsa, which is sweet and spicy and pairs perfectly with the chicken. We ate the chicken and salsa with brown rice, and c’est parfait! (That’s French).

One thought on “What’s a girl to do with .2?

  1. […] 13, 2009 at 9:28 am · Filed under Weight Loss A whole stick of butter ladies and gentlemen (are there any gentlemen?). That’s right one whole pound! Maybe some of […]

Leave a Reply

